TTT: 2016 Releases I Totally Meant to Read (and subsequently ignored)

TopTenTuesdayLogo

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

As a mood reader, I am not the most patient of bookworm bunnies. I like my books to be JUST WHAT I WANT and if it seems to be heading in an odd direction, I throw lettuce at it and wonder off to find a better behaved book. Sometimes a FANTASTIC book gets started and promptly dumped, not because I can’t see it’s amazing, but because my mood isn’t right to EXPLODE WITH ALL THE EMOTIONS so it must wait until I CAN BE A SUPERNOVA OF FEELS OVER IT PROPERLY. These are some books that I either didn’t start or started but put aside so that I could flail over them at a later day…. that never materialized….*

*Technically this day still could be coming.. Hopefully it’ll be 2017!!

tttset1

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson – I have heard no end of praise for this book AND I EVEN STARTED IT ONCE. It was good. I got distracted. I think the other book featured chocolate and puppies? Anyway, I am looking forward to getting back to this one at some point!

The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine – THIS ONE I STARTED AND ADORED SOOOOO MUCH!!! I was almost halfway through when I stopped because things started to go wrong for my precious characters AND I COULDN’T HANDLE IT. I mean, that’s supposed to happen right?? BUT NOT TO MY DRAGON PRINCE, HANDS OFF PLOT POINTS. Err… I will go back to this one because I adored it, but I must have a stash of chocolate and marshmallows on hand at all times!!

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May – The sequel to The Falconer, which I obsessively adored for MONTHS when it came out, but had THE WORST CLIFFHANGER. Like almost to the level of Glass Sword (if you’ve read it…. which I was not a fan.. anywho) in horribleness. Then the sequel came out, I started it and…… couldn’t remember a thing? #mybrainisbasicallyswisscheese. But now I own both of them and plan to reread The Falconer and go straight into The Vanishing Throne AND I’M SO EXCITED OMG!

tttset2

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake – This came in my Owlcrate…. I promised myself I’d read everything that came in an Owlcrate…. PLUS IT HAS A MAGNIFICENT MAP. Therefore at some point I’ll read it? *vaguely nods head while looking at other books*

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han – OMG I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK AND NOT WANT TO READ THIS BOOK AT THE SAME TIME. The first book was so insanely, adorably, filled-with-food (#priorities), sweet YA contemporary magic that I want to revisit it ASAP. But…. the final book doesn’t come out until May 2nd and what if there’s a cliffhanger??

Shadow Magic by Joshua Khan – Our acquisitions department at work had this out for people to take and I saw MAGIC and a thing with WINGS and swiped it from the table faster than a gryphon running away from a bath. That….. was last Spring…. it looks cute right?

tttset3

Heartless by Marissa Meyer – I really have no excuse for not starting this one yet! There’s glorious baking descriptions PLUS a retelling – I made grabby grabby hands MONTHS before it came out. (Also Marissa Meyer is one of my top YA writers and hilarious at a book signing!)

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – I hear there are waffles??? I DON’T WANT THIS SERIES TO END. So I’m procrastinating. Hardcore. And buying candles based on the characters because then I can’t start until they arrive! #totallyvalidreasoning. 😉

tttlastset

The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki I must confess… I bought this because it was on sale. *hides behind mound of carrots* I read part of this from a library copy and it was good but DENSE. Like, how many words can we use to describe EVERYTHING. Very adult historical fiction/literary style, which is sometimes my cup of tea. Usually when I’m drinking my 7th cup of tea and buried under a mountain of scones. (<- sadly this has not happened lately.)

Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse – I had no desire to read this book until I saw the author doing a panel with Ruta Sepetys on historical fiction in YA at bookcon last year. She was really funny and her book sounded great! Then I met her at the signing and she made a comment that set up my back (I’m sure it was unintentional but still). I’ve put off reading this one ever since. BUT THE BOOK DID SOUND INTERESTING. So I’m trying to let go of my grudge and read it. *cue Let It Go music*

Let’s Talk!

Have you read any of these??? Which one would YOU read first? What books did you hope to read but didn’t make it to last year?

13 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s the first time i’ve ever heard of Walk on Earth a Stranger but to be honest, the cover looks very appealing. *-*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      The cover is REALLY PRETTY and shiny 😉 The plot seems really interesting too. I’ve never read a fantasy set in the Wild West before!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Woah! I think i’ll be checking it out, too!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So many wonderful books that I haven’t read either! My TBR pile will never ever ever go down if I keep adding more things to it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Hahahahaha SAME. I start making a dent and whoops, how’d all those new books get added?!?!? O=)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We are GOING to read Shadow Queen though. Yes we are. And I also need to read Three Dark Crowns, P.S. I Love You, and Crooked Kingdom. so many books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      YES WE ARE!!!!! ❤ ❤

      Like

  4. Zoe says:

    Crooked Kingdom was one of my favorite books of 2016, so I hope you end up enjoying it as much as I did. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Thank you Zoe! I’m really excited and nervous for CK. I know that I’ll be in love with waffles by the end but that’s about it!

      Like

  5. Shadow Magic look so interesting and I’ve never heard fo it! I love the way you took photos of the books, they’re beautiful. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Thank you lovely!! I hope you like Shadow Magic!! Hopefully I’ll get to it sometime this Spring… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I LOOOOVED Walk on Earth a Stranger! SO much. And Three Dark Crowns! Two all-time favorites for me, so I recommend those of course 😀 md Crooked Kingdom was REALLY good too! I also really want to read The Shadow Queen! I hope you get a chance to read these soon, and that you enjoy them!

    Like

  7. The only ones I’ve read are Three Dark Crowns and Heartless. I recommend both of them, but especially TDC—though, maybe if you’ve put it off this long, you might want to wait till closer to the sequel? I have that Swiss cheese brain thing too, so I can definitely relate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

