Down the TBR Hole #2

LET THE BOOK GAMES COMMENCE!

(Recap: Last week I found Lia at Lost in a Story’s weekly meme Down the TBR Hole to help deal with my overwhelming GR TBR)

Most of you probably know this feeling. Your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well, that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

I’m now at 572 books on my TBR thanks to last week’s ruthless evaluation (and my fierce struggle to NOT ADD MORE). Let’s see who the lucky contestants are today:

rhapsody

 

Title/Author: Rhapsody: Child of Blood by Elizabeth Haydon

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: This description had my interest like Newt with a new magical beast, buuuuut then I checked the reviews. (<- not a good choice) People HATE this book. VIVIDLY. So much for reading this one. 😦

Judgment: Go!

 

 

witches-of-eileanan

 

Title/Author: The Witches of Eileanan by Kate Forsyth

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: Chosen-one alert!! Break out the parades! Okay, in all seriousness, this does look semi-interesting, primarily because CELTIC LAND (<- basically I would read it for that). Reviewers say there is some questionable dialect in the writing, but eh. I can deal.

Judgment: Keep

 

 

way-of-shadows

 

Title/AuthorThe Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: Assassins? Check. Epic cover? Check. Good reviews? GOOD POTATO CHIPS NO! I started this one a long time ago and have never felt the need to go back…

Judgment: Go!

 

 

 

the-book-of-three

 

Title/AuthorThe Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: After being required to read book four of this series for a lit class, I added this to my TBR BECAUSE I WAS SO CONFUSED. I love the idea that it is based off of Welsh mythology, but I just look at this one and shudder.

Judgment: Go!

 

 

 

daughter-of-the-forest

 

Title/AuthorDaughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: I don’t have any poor memories of this author’s writing, so the CELTIC aspect of this story makes me quite happy and interested. 🙂

Judgment: Keep

 

 

 

So I removed ANOTHER 3 out of 5! This was not on purpose, it just happened, lol.

Let’s Talk!

Would you have kept or gotten rid of these books? What books have you recently added to your TBR?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lia says:

    Removing boos from your tbr feels really good, right? Although now that I am so hyperaware of the size of my tbr it also feels like I should read all of them, right now.

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      HAHAHA YES!! I feel like I should be able to read them all, but that would easily be a full time job. (The best kind of job if we could only make it work!!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lia says:

        Oh yes I would love to just read them all! Sadly that’s impossible and I would die of stress if I needed to do that.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maya says:

    This is such a good idea! When I want to buy new books I always go to my tbr shelf and I hesitate… So this might be helpful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      YES!! This way you know for sure that you really REALLY want to read them. Opening up space for more books. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

