2017 Book Blog Challenges!

There are few things I love more than making book lists, joining reading challenges and generally acting like I know what I’m doing when really I’ve been thinking about eating pie and completely missed the directions. (<- or muffins. Muffins are delicious. Especially when paired with hot chocolate covered in whipped cream and marshmallows….. erm, what was I writing about again? Oh yes, BOOKS!)

When I spotted a bunch of blog challenges for 2017 popping up around the interwebs, I couldn’t help but bookmark them and think “Excuse for making lists?? WHY YES LET ME JOIN THEM ALL!” then promptly ignore thinking about them because I saved a ridiculous amount…. it is actually quite scary to go into that folder. So after MUCH chocolate and ice cream, I’ve decided to brave my challenges list and weed them out for the ones I might remember to keep track of over the next year. šŸ™‚

rockmytbr17

#RockMyTBR 2017 – hosted by The YA Book Traveler

This is the challenge that started the spree…..

THE CHALLENGE: To read a minimum of 1 book per month that is currently published. You can set your own yearly goal (so it can be more than 1), but the purpose is to work through our mountainous peaks of books.

MY GOAL: 24 books (half from my purchased TBR, the other from my library TBR)

OTHER FACTORS: The founder really encourages finding others who want to read the same books and to set up buddy reads, so I’m posting my list of 24 books here in case anyone wants to read them with me! (*insert puppy dog eyes* I SWEAR I AM A WONDERFUL BUDDY READER TO FLAIL WITH) We also get to use the wonderful #rockmytbr tag to find everyone’s related posts.

KEEPING ON TRACK: Post an update once a month of where you are. (My goal is to start a monthly wrap up series at the end of January that’ll include this).

MY LIST: Do you want to read any of these???????? (In no particular order…)

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  2. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  3. Of Dreams and Rust by Sarah Fine
  4. The Dragon Lords: Fools Gold by Jon Hollins
  5. The Travelling Tea Shop by Belinda Jones
  6. Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson
  7. Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  8. The Shadow Queen by C.J Redwine
  9. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  10. The House of Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
  11. Shadow Magic by Joshua Khan
  12. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  13. And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander
  14. Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks
  15. Code Name Komiko by Naomi Paul
  16. Copperhead by Tina Connolly
  17. The Devil in the White City: murder, magic and madness at the fair that changed America by Erik Larson
  18. Dogtripping: 25 rescues, 11 volunteers, and 3 RVs on our canine cross-country adventure by David Rosenfelt
  19. Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock
  20. The Island House by Posie Graeme-Evans
  21. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
  22. The queen’s vows: a novel of Isabella of Castile by C.W. Gortner
  23. Read my pins: Stories from a Diplomat’s Jewel Box by Madeleine K Albright
  24. Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

Bookish Bingo 2016-2017 – hosted by Pretty Deadly Reviews

winter-bingo-2016-2017-768x752

THE CHALLENGE: To get as many bingos as possible. You can only use each book once (so a cover buy Urban Fantasy can only count for one). This runs December, January and February. At the end of January I’ll post where I am, but here is the blank one. I’ll post my December books here shortly. šŸ™‚

2017 Diverse Reads Book Challenge – hosted by Chasing Faerytales and Read.Sleep.Repeat

THE CHALLENGE: From January 1st-December 31st, the goal is to simply read as many diverse books as you can/want. They have created suggested themes per month, but you aren’t required to read a book from each theme or even to read 12 or more books. There is also a list of title ideas for each theme to help get you started picking.

MY GOAL: To read at least one book per monthly theme.

THEME LIST:

January – Stories based on/ inspired by diverse folktales/culture/mythology
February – POC/ Biracial/ Multiracial Main Character/Lead
March – Disability
April – Mental Health
May – Religious Diversity
June and July – Sexuality and Gender Identity
August – Non Western Setting
September – Ownvoices
October – Intersectionality
November – Diverse Retelling
December – 2017 Releases
This is what I have narrowed my list down to and it was INSANELY hard to do! I almost added a classics challenge, because I would like to try and read more of those, BUT that wouldn’t really overlap with any of these.
LET’S TALK!
Are you doing any 2017 blog challenges? Do you like challenges like this? DO YOU WANT TO READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS WITH ME?!? Pretty please?Ā 
11 Comments Add yours

  1. kmbooks24 says:

    Oooh book blog challenges! I never know how to find these-You are literally the only way I seem to find them šŸ˜‚ I’ll definitely join you in reading some of the books on your Rock My Tbr challenge list!! You’ve got a good list going!! I would like to do up one of these myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      YOU SHOULD KALLI!!! It’s so much fun making lists šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ and then we can read together! I’m sure you’ll have some amazing contemporaries on your list that might tempt me to the pink side. šŸ˜˜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kmbooks24 says:

        YESSSS I will tempt you with ALL THE CONTEMPORARIES BECCA! Though I’ve got some dystopians up my sleeve as well šŸ˜‰ I love making lists as well so I think I’ll get down to it over my next two days off (it’s been too long since I posted anyway šŸ˜‚šŸ™ˆ)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Becca says:

        Dystopians are another genre I read next to nothing of, SO LET THE TEMPTATION BEGIN šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ™ˆšŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

  2. These are great challenges. I finally got crooked kingdom for Christmas and I’m planning on reading it at the start of January.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      OOHHHH I HOPE YOU LOVE IT!! I bought it right when it came out but have been too scared to start…. :/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I need to read Shadow Queen as well. Wanna buddy read?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Totally!! Do you have a copy already?

      Like

      1. Yes I do. šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Becca says:

        Awesome!!! I probably won’t have time this month but would you want to read it in February???

        Like

      3. That sounds great. I’m swamped this month as well. I’m so excited.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

