How to defeat the evil reading slump (if bribing it with cookies doesn’t work)

When I decided to revive my poor, lonely blog, I asked for post ideas on IG and one person suggested talking about how I get out of reading slumps. I’d just finished reading 6 books in 4 days after MONTHS of snail-speed reading (which is completely unlike my normal dragonish self), so below are what helped me get out of the reading blues, but IT REALLY DEPENDS ON YOUR PERSONALITY. I know what motivates me to read and once I fell sick and had days laying on a couch to recover, I put it to good use to devour my TBR so that it’s now only the size of a small tree. (<- it has it’s own bookshelf. And table. Even after this reading spree. O:D )

STEP ONE: Gather all the shinies

img_2932
The leaning tower of rainbowness

*Let’s pretend we haven’t seen this photo before. 😉

I’m a HUGE mood reader. While I love my dragons with the burning passion of a dwarf for gold, sometimes I want to read about ICE CREAM and FANCY DRESSES… so I need to be prepared in case that happens. It often strikes mid-book which is quite nice of it right? Right now I’m reading 3 different books…all different styles within the Fantasy genre…all started within the past few days. Two I’m 200+ pages into and the third I legit downloaded last night on a whim and am 50-ish pages into.

If you’re having trouble getting into a book or can’t get AWAY from another book *cough* ACOMAF *cough,* I usually read the first few pages of all the books around me until one strikes that special “Hmmmmmm I wonder what will happen” chord. If this doesn’t help, move on to step two.

STEP TWO: Make delicious food

img_3526
LET US ALL APPRECIATE CAKE

I AM EASILY BRIBED BY FOOD. Preferably delicious food. And I eat while reading. I know not a ton of people do for fear of getting stuff on the books, but I’m a careful penguin with mad skills at swiftly throwing forks away when it looks like it’ll drip on the page. #nevercausesproblems #totallysafe 😉

Sometimes I bake with the goal of eating it while reading. And I’m not allowed to eat it unless I read. Usually I’ll start eating then get so pulled into the book (if I followed step one) that I want to keep reading after I’m done.

If this doesn’t work (or you don’t eat and read at the same time), move onto step three.

STEP THREE: Set a Bookish Goal/Time to Read

atatn3

The biggest thing that stops me from reading is lack of time. Between work, real people life, bookstagram, writing posts, etc., I spend a lot of time talking about books and not reading them. My 6 books in 4 days happened primarily because I was at home sick and couldn’t walk across the room without getting winded. So I built a book fort and dove in. Since then I’ve kept up my reading, but at a much slower pace. My new bookish goal is to change that! For a few months, I read EVERY NIGHT (for at least five minutes) before going to sleep and I READ SO MUCH! I was even reading NonFiction at one point (which easily takes twice the length of time than Fiction for me) and finished it pretty quickly. Now, I’m going to go back to that habit even if I lose a bit of sleep. Because books > sleep. 😉

I’m also woefully behind on my GoodReads challenge thanks to my last slump 😦 😦 so that has helped propel me to read more too (as I’m very challenge driven).

Still feeling unmotivated?? Proceed to step four.

STEP FOUR: Write/draw/sing/build a snowman to tell your own story

img_3108
Fox sock says HELLO

What if your reading slump is because of the precious cinnamon rolls from that last AMAZING and EPIC book you read traipsing around your brain with no respect for the sheer torturous wait before the next book comes out?

HELP THEM ESCAPE. Write what they’re doing. Basically, it’s okay to make all the fan art, fanfic, etc. to help cope with character-obsession-withdrawal, aka COW. Only once you’ve admitted you have COW can you deal with it. 😉 I handle my insane love for certain characters from This Savage Song by posting pictures of that book CONSTANTLY on my bookstagram. I would probably do the same for ACOMAF if I had a copy of the book and not just candles.

Another example, my post about evil villains needing spunky sidekicks? That was partially due to a minor obsession with the Hobbit movies and Smaug….. and I still want to write more because that is seriously my favorite blog post to date!

I find it super helpful to read new, and completely, different books while doing fun fanfic/art stuff to deal with COW.

If this doesn’t work? Then I make cookies and binge watch LOTR/Harry Potter/etc. for a night then restart the whole process.

Let’s Talk!

How do you deal with reading slumps?? Do you have them? What are your tricks/tips for getting out of it?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the post and recommendations. Personally. I focus on another hobby for a few days and then come back to my books. I also find reading the first few pages of some books until something sinks its teeth into me.

    Like

  2. At the minute, I plough through. I have to, my course depends on it. 😦

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      AWWW school does kind of require that. 😦 But I hope you are enjoying what you read at least!!

      Like

  3. I’ve never heard someone say they make up stories to get through reading hangovers. But I totally do that. Seriously as soon as I finish a book I’m playing with the characters in my head. And once I’ve made up some stories THEN I can read another book. How else can I deal with my new favourite people being ripped away from me?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      SAME. At the end of the book, it just feels too soon to say goodbye! Plus, I like to imagine other plot twists that could’ve happened or might happen in the next book.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I HATE slumps! Hate. There is nothing I can ever do to rid myself of them, so I just keep pushing through until I get out of it. Which is probably really unfair to the books I read DURING it, but I have tried everything else and nothing works! Rereading favorites just makes me hate new books even more, and NOT reading makes the slump like, take root hahah. But I think food is a VERY solid plan, and I approve 😉 I also think that creating stuff helps, too. I like to do that too when I am not motivated to do much else.

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Reading slumps are so evil and frustrating! I try to push through it too, but sometimes nothing works >.< FOOD IS ALWAYS A SOLID PLAN, lol. 🙂 Nothing can get me to do something more than food.

      Like

  5. I love this. I’m a mood reader too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Being a mood reader is really it’s own can of worms! (Although I can’t imagine NOT being one 😂🙈). I’M SO GLAD YOU’RE ONE TOO. Mood readers unite!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! I did a whole discussion about it. I’ll check out 10 books from the library knowing I’ll only read 2 the whole way through.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

