Down the TBR Hole #1

While I think I have a pretty epic physical book horde (donations always welcome 😉 ), my electronic TBR is starting to spiral out of my control. After a Hunger Games-esque culling earlier this year, I thought “Oh, perfect! I should be able to read all of these!” HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. *silly delusional bookworm*

Finding Lia at Lost in a Story’s weekly meme Down the TBR Hole felt like serendipity, thus let the new Book Games begin!

Most of you probably know this feeling. Your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well, that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

I currently have 575 books on my To-Read shelf (not too shabby if I say so myself!). Let us see who is up for elimination. 🙂

boy-in-the-suitcase

 

Title/Author: The Boy in the Suitcase by Lene Kaaberbol and Agnete Friis

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: Uhhhhhh why did I want to read this book?!? This sounds horrible. >.<

Judgment: Go!

 

 

house-of-silk

 

Title/Author: The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: SHERLOCK HOLMES!!! Plus, I think I might have gotten this on sale at one point?? Maybe it’s in my bookshelf of rarely-looked at books?

Judgment: Keep

 

 

dissolution

 

Title/Author: Dissolution by C.J. Sansom

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: I used to read a LOT of historical mysteries, but I’ve been heading down the YA fantasy rabbit hole a LOT more lately.

Judgment: Go!

 

 

 

wizards-first-rule

 

Title/Author: Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: …. started to skim the description after the second paragraph….

Judgment: Go!

 

 

 

a-great-and-terrible-beauty

 

Title/Author: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Date added to TBR: April 2012

Thoughts: The plot sounds a bit… odd, but I know FOR SURE that this is in my TBR bookshelf of “things bought on discount.”

Judgment: Keep

 

 

 

So I removed 3 out of 5! Not too bad and helps remind me of why I wanted to read (some of) these books in the first place.

Let’s Talk!

Do you like to go through and clean up your TBR? Would you have kept or gotten rid of these books?

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one that goes through my TBR! It can be so easy to click ‘Want to Read’ when you don’t, actually. I’ve also learnt to “personalise” my reading lists – I started off with Top 100 Classics from The Guardian and worked my way through. Now, I can still go through those lists, but consider writing style, genre, author preferences and whether the title captivates me – so I don’t have to read ALL 100 books if I don’t want to. Nice post! 🙂
    https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      The Top 100 Classics sounds IMPRESSIVE! It is soooo easy to add every book with a minimally interesting plot or cover on GR and then promptly forget all about them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This actually sounds like such a good idea! My TBR could definitely use some culling too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      YES! Especially before the new year when we get so many NEW BOOKS to adore and obsess over. 😉

      Like

  3. I should definitely do this. No way I’d be this decisive though. I’d probably just end up keeping everything lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      IT WAS SO HARD!! I wanted to keep most of them, but then I reminded myself I HAD to get rid of SOME. Lol Still wasn’t easy. ;P

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mine’s completely out of control! Or, at least, my Goodreads one is. Now, cleaning it out seems like a monumental task, but maybe I’ll get round to it someday… (I said MAYBE.)

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Hahahaha, the idea of cleaning up my real life TBR scares me too much! >.< I liked this challenge since you're only doing so many books at a time…. makes it less scary. lol.

      Like

  5. Lizzy says:

    Oh hey, you decided to do it too!! Awesome progress on your first week! 😀 Doesn’t it feel great?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      It really does!! Although part of me felt bad for the poor books that I kicked off the list. 😉 but I know it’s the right thing to do! lol

      Like

      1. Lizzy says:

        I know exactly what you mean! I struggle with guilt every time.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. kmbooks24 says:

    Ooh i need to get in on this tbr-cleansing meme! I don’t even know what half of the books are in my goodreads tbr 🙈 Im glad you decided to keep A Great and Terrible Beauty because I really liked that trilogy and I think you’d like it too ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      It is really quite freeing to start going through and removing books….. but then the guilt over adding stuff is gone 😂🙈

      Like

  7. Oh this is such a great idea! I have tons of books on my TBR, and I never think about going back to check out every single one – or at least a couple, once in a while, and wonder whether or not I still want to read these. Feels good to do a little “cleaning”, I think I’ll do that as well haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      You should totally give this a try!!! It was quite refreshing to start the “cleaning” but also not super scary since it was only five books and not the whole mountain! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

