Covers I Covet: Adult Fantasies

My obsession with Adult Fantasy novels has been losing round after round of my TBR’s fight club to YA books – and I think they may be conspiring with the publishers to release fabulous covers SO THAT I’M TORN about following the fight clubs rules (#rebelreader).

I love this blog series because I get to BROWSE all the PRETTIES (on Edelweiss), but some covers there aren’t yet on Goodreads?!? So I linked to GR, but it may not show you the gorgeousness there yet :/ (<- all of the disappointment in you GR, lol!).

New Books part of series I have yet to read (but want more than 10,000 fairy lights!)

Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien de Castell (due out April 4, 2017) – SHINY MUSKETEERS ❤ All of the books in this series have epic swashbuckling covers so they call to my piratish soul.

Eagle and Empire by Alan Smale (due out May 16, 2017) – Normally I HATE people on fantasy covers (especially if they are just staring at you like this), BUT I like this cover because it suggests a diverse cast of characters. (also she is smirking, this is a good sign for sassiness).

Within the Sanctuary of Wings by Marie Brennan (due out April 25, 2017) – All the pretty dragons!! I read book one and enjoyed it, but I’ve never made it to the others and now the final book is coming out and SUCH A SLACKER….. *YA books start giving puppy dog eyes*

Of Sand and Malice Made by Bradley P Beaulieu (already out) – Pretty sure she is planning how to smite her enemies using the pretty magic symbols arrayed around her horns. DO IT DO IT! This is a prequel to a full length series? Idk if you need to read this first or after the series?

New Books that I HAVE ACTUALLY READ THE OTHERS/are a new series

The Empire’s Ghost by Isabelle Steiger (due out May 16, 2017) – a new debut fantasy featuring an alley-dwelling (legit how they are described) band of misfits pressed into a super secret mission for a developing evil Emperor, who then realize that they can use this mission to SAVE EVERYONE. (basically they had me at misfits. >.< PLUS THE COVER <3).

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley (due out August 1, 2017) – Natasha’s debut, the Watchmaker of Filigree Street, was ONE of my FAVORITE reads last year!! I’m so stoked for this one, PLUS LOOK AT THAT COVER (although not sure how the monkeys will get along with the octopus on the first book’s cover..)

A Gathering of Ravens by Scott Oden (due out June 20, 2017) – ALL THE NORSE MYTHOLOGY!! But, actually focused on one person (and not Loki) so it may not be as confusing as others I’ve tried to read. I love the blurb, so I’m listing the blurb from Edelweiss below:

Beowulf meets The Lord of the Rings in this epic novel of vengeance, faith, and the power of myth.

To the Danes, he is skraelingr; to the English, he is orcnéas; to the Irish, he is fomoraig. He is Corpse-maker and Life-quencher, the Bringer of Night, the Son of the Wolf and Brother of the Serpent. He is Grimnir, and he is the last of his kind—the last in a long line of monsters who have plagued humanity since the Elder Days.

Drawn from his lair by a thirst for vengeance against the Dane who slew his brother, Grimnir emerges into a world that’s changed. A new faith has arisen. The Old Ways are dying, and their followers retreating into the shadows; even still, Grimnir’s vengeance cannot be denied.

Let’s Talk!

What new adult fantasy books are you excited for this year? Have you read any of these series?? Which ones should I prioritize and risk payback from my books’ fight club?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Di Hewlett says:

    I really love the look of Eagle and Empire. I know, I know – people on covers and all. But the points you made are exactly why I like it. There’s so much presence there!

    A Gathering of Ravens is also grabbing my attention – plus Norse Mythology!? Count me in! 🙂

    I read mainly YA – but I’m going to have to make exceptions here! Great post!

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      OMG since you liked it, I’m definitely going to have to try and read Eagle and Empire! The Norse Mythology aspect of A Gathering of Ravens was totally what sold me on trying it! Let’s hope these are all fabulous!

      Like

Leave a Reply

