TTT: Ten Books that would be better with ghosts

TopTenTuesdayLogo

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post is a Halloween Freebie — I was sorely tempted to blog about candy ;p , but ultimately settled for something REMOTELY book related -> books that would be better with GHOSTS. (We’ve had a vampire craze, a werewolf craze, but the poor ghostly beings haven’t had a chance to SHINE… *giggles at own pun*)*

* Note: These ghosts don’t have to be scary, but they DO need to be snarky. Luckily, I have some suggestions to help with that. 😉

Books that already have fantasy elements (but no GHOSTIES? WHY??)

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows – this book is pretty hilarious on its’ own, but a ghostly Henry VIII that wanders around hiding from his 6 ghostly wives is just too comical an idea to pass up!

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – another read I adored, but I don’t remember any ghosts in this?? There are djinni and other fabulous mythical beings, but I vote there needs to be at least ONE gun possessed by a tiny spirit who lives off of gunpowder residue. When feeling helpful, it can help bullets hit multiple people!

Bohemian Gospel by Dana Chamblee Carpenter – This book is an interesting mish-mash of history and primarily one fantasy element, but the setting was really unique. The main character, Mouse, doesn’t have a soul (only explanation is that her dad was the Devil) and thus cannot die/has super senses and some other things. She is pretty lonely most of the book because of that, which is why she needed a ghostly sidekick! Maybe it could even be her separated soul??

Books that have no fantasy elements (the poor canoodles)

See How They Run by Ally Carter – this book was sooooo boring! I loved book one, but it felt like NOTHING HAPPENED in book two. I vote Grace’s parents come back from the dead and start wrecking havoc on the idiots who killed them, because THAT would be much more interesting. 😉

As White as Snow by Salla Simukka – Translated from Finnish, this is the second in a series featuring a contemporary Snow White with a thriller/suspense plot. Book one (As Red As Blood) WAS AMAZING, book two was meh. (<- unintentional theme seems to be developing!) A lot of focus is on her woe-is-me feelings for her ex-boyfriend (who is transitioning medically and she is super supportive, but he broke up with her before the book starts), which I don’t mind (the woe-is-me-ing) if it doesn’t OVERTAKE the rest of the plot…. and this did. >.< She needs a ghostly companion to get her re-focused and to shove delicious chocolate into her face. 🙂

Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth – A purely historical retelling of Rapunzel, I did mostly enjoy this book, but Selena (the witch of the tale) totally deserves a good haunting. This ghost would be less snarky and more “Let me ruin your dreams and make you tear your hair out in fear.”

Books THAT DO HAVE GHOSTS AND ARE WINNING LIFE

Lockwood & Co series by Jonathan Stroud – I would LOVE to visit this world system, even though I’m pretty sure a ghost would spot my ASAP and then I would be dead, turned into a ghost and be stuck. I just don’t want to hang out with the Skull in the Jar all day >.<

Delia’s Shadow by Jamie Lee Moyer – I have to space out my reading of this series, because there are some pretty horrendous serial killers/ghostly hauntings that Delia sees (and reports to her policeman of a husband) *definitely NIGHTMARE worthy* The setting is PHENOMENALLY described though.

The Girl from the Well/The Suffering by Rin Chupeco – Okiku is a ghost partially-driven by the horrible event that MADE her into a ghost centuries before. The first book was so-so, but the SECOND BOOK GUYS -> IT IS ALL OF THE AWESOME!!! Set in a suicide forest in Japan, there is an entire ghost town full of creepy, nasty ghosts that Tark and Okiku must try and “save”/release. (Also, I’m counting this as two books because I need to get back to my Nano project 😉 )

Let’s Talk!

What are your favorite books featuring ghosts? What other monsters or mythical creatures do you want to see more of in books?

 

Leave a Reply

