Book Covers I Covet: YA Fantasies

What’s that famous saying? Don’t judge a book by its’ cover? HAHAHAHAHAHA — if I see a shiny GORGEOUS cover (particularly in a color that I need more of for #bookstagram) it automatically gets stashed in the shopping cart – do I read the blurb? SOMETIMES. Maybe. Most of the time. It depends. Just how shiny is it?!?!? (<-will reincarnate as book magpie)

With the dangerous ability to browse new books on Book Depository (UK covers why you so pretty and different from the US versions??), Goodreads, Edelweiss, and more, I end up having a huge buy-this-the-minute-you-have-money list and a TBR that is never ending (cue: my TBR that never ends… it just goes on and on my friends… started buying books not knowing if their really good, then my friends suggest some more and I see a bookstore.. so my TBR just never ends…. *continue singing until buried by TBR*).

I know I’m not the only dragonish reader who LOVES SHINY THINGS, so while taking a break from the Book Traveling Thursdays meme, I figured your bookish hoarding instincts would appreciate seeing all the pretties.* ❤ 😉

*These aren’t even ALL the books I want to read in this genre this year, JUST THE ONES WITH COVERS OUT 😀

New books that I have not seen the internet flail about yet

ourdarkduet

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab (due out June 13, 2017)

OMG WE HAVE A COVER *twirls and jumps with joy* ❤ ❤ I haven’t seen this posted anywhere else yet, but I could easily have missed it BECAUSE THIS BOOK ❤ ❤ It will probably be everywhere and I AM ALL OF THE READY FOR IT!!

spectacle

Spectacle by Rachel Vincent (due out May 30, 2017)

Have I read book one (Menagerie)? NOPE. But this is pretty. Reminds of the Minotaur. I wants it. *pets book cover on the screen*

bull

BULL by David Elliott (due out March 28, 2017)

A re-telling of the Minotaur in VERSE?!?! Plus, the colors on this cover are STELLAR. ❤

New books that I have seen other bloggers want with the need of a thousand cheesecakes

thecontinent

The Continent by Keira Drake (due out January 3, 2017)

IS THE CONTINENT UPSIDE DOWN???? Also, the color scheme is super sparkly and the blurb (which I did read!) says the main character is a cartographer who gets stranded on a super dangerous continent! Not sure what other fantasy elements there will be aside from a completely different world, but tis shiny. I WANT.

wintersong

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones (due out February 7, 2017)

There are GOBLINS and a globe that is super reminiscent of Beauty and the Beast? Also the main female character is a musician and BREAK OUT THE CHOCOLATE – time to CELEBRATE!! ❤ (<- is a musician but where are they in fantasy novels?!?! do I just miss those books??)

thevaliant

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston (due out February 14, 2017)

An (alternate?) history with a Celtic warrior kidnapped on the eve of her birthday and sold into Gladiatoral school! Basically, you put “Celtic” in any book description and I WANT IT! Also, other bloggers reviews say this is better than banana pudding (maybe chocolate, but how can you BEAT CHOCOLATE??!)

bonewitch

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco (due out March 7, 2017)

This cover is SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! The publisher (Sourcebooks) handed out posters with this cover and a snippet from the book at BookCon and it is seriously stunning in person! (Plus my amount of purple books with shiny gold swirls = nonexistent. How is that possible??? *starts writing petition to publishers*)

roar

Roar by Cora Carmack (due out June 13, 2017)

I rescind my hatred of people on fantasy covers for this one because HER WEAPONS ARE SO LOVELY AND STABBY!! The dress… may be hard to fight in (let’s be real -> fighting priorities trump flowy things even if they are pretty).

Books whose covers are actually an eyesore but THE PLOT SOUNDS FABULOUS

The Dragon’s Price by Bethany Wiggins (due out February 21, 2017) – Sorrow has two choices: marry an evil prince or surrender to a deadly dragon – she chooses the DRAGON (because she is a smart bunny with idiotic parents who need to go to horrible names anonymous). Evil prince follows anyway and the dragon hatches a plan. Of the three, only one person (or dragon) can win freedom… The actual blurb is better than that BUT DRAGONS. You can bet I want to read this when it comes out (even the cover is horrendous).

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamiltong (due out February 2, 2017) – There are two covers for this and I DISLIKE THEM BOTH. The red one is ok, but will not really look pretty with the shiny book 1 cover (at least my imagination thinks it looks a bit like unicorn puke). However, I ADORED BOOK ONE AND NEED BOOK TWO ASAP.

The White Road of the Moon by Rachel Neumeier (due out March 14, 2017) – I’m not even sure I want to know what the image on the cover is supposed to be?? It kind of looks like a deformed eyeball *twitch twitch*. However THERE IS A GHOST DOG GUYS. If there are squishy, lovable animals in a fantasy book, then I don’t really need much else to convince me the library should give me a copy.

Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer (due out April 11, 2017) – THIS BOOK. The description is one of the best one’s I’ve read for a Sleeping Beauty retelling and I’m ALL OF THE EXCITED! The cover is alright, not horrific or over the top gorgeous (to me), but THE PLOT. *taps claws with impatience*

Let’s Talk!

Do you want to read any of these books?? What other genres do you scour the internet for? Is there anything you HATE seeing on covers? (or vice versa, show me a dragon and I MUST BUY IT)?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Well now I want most of these too. Thanks for that -.-

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Hahaha. You’re very welcome!! 🙂 I would LOVE to hear what you think about them once they are out and we readers can pet the pretty covers, I mean read the books! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wintersong and The Continent! So pretty! I especially love those covers.

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      I agree! Their blurbs sound really interesting too *hope level for an awesome book: Mt. Everest*

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Zoe says:

    😍😍 So many gorgeous covers and so many great new books for me to add to my TBR! Thanks so much for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Awww thank you Zoe! These covers are so pretty, but hopefully the contents are just as fabulous! Did any miss any other books that you’re looking forward to? My TBR always needs more books (as it glares at me from a massive pile on the floor….;D)

      Like

Leave a Reply

