TTT: Bookish names I yell at my car

TopTenTuesdayLogo

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

My car has a snarky side that would make most YA and romance novel characters proud. Want to speed up? Mwahahahaha, let us debate about that! Want to change the song? How about we switch playlists instead! (This could be the ghost in my iPod that randomly restarts or turns off my songs too..) She is still a pretty new car, so I haven’t really settled on a name to call her yet, but this list is all possible bookish aliases (aliai??) that I could see her using if magically turned into a human and released to wreck havoc on the world.*

*Along with quotes that I think are either a) hilarious by said character, b) hilarious by said author who wrote the character, c) quotes I feel like said car would say to me if it were Bumblebee or d) good ideas for yelling at said car when stuck in traffic for 20 minutes at a time and she starts messing with my music >.<…

Classy comebacks from corseted ladies

❤ Austen, Jane Austen (Pride & Prejudice)

Is not general incivility the very essence of love?

❤ Sophy written by Georgette Heyer (The Grand Sophy)

“You are shameless!” he said angrily.
“Nonsense! You only say so because I drove your horses,” she answered. “Never mind! I will engage not to do so again.”
“I’ll take care of that!” he retorted. “Let me tell you, my dear Cousin, that I should be better pleased if you would refrain from meddling in the affairs of my family!”
“Now, that,” said Sophy, “I am very glad to know, because if ever I should desire to please you I shall know just how to set about it. I daresay I shan’t, but one likes to be prepared for any event, however unlikely.

❤ Amelia Peabody written by Elizabeth Peters (quote found on GR and no book listed)

No woman really wants a man to carry her off; she only wants him to want to do it.

❤ MORE AMELIA PEABODY

Your trousers are on fire. I would have told you, but you so dislike advice…

❤ Elizabeth written by Julia Quinn (How to Marry a Marquis)

“James – “Are you paying attention or just trying to make me look like an idiot?”
Elizabeth – “Oh, I’m definitely paying attention. If you look like an idiot it has nothing to do with me.

Witty words from wily teens

❤ Lila written by V.E. Schwab (A Gathering of Shadows)

“She straightened. “You tried to seduce me, for information.”
“You can’t hold that against me forever.”
“It was last night.”
“Well I was running out of options, and I figured it was worth a shot.”
Lila rolled her eyes. “You really know how to make a girl feel special.

❤ Nico written by Rick Riordan (The Last Olympian – technically a guy, but the personality is SPOT ON)

With great power… comes great need to take a nap. Wake me up later.

❤ Matthias written by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows – another guy, maybe my car is not sure?)

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.”

Awesome authors who always win the conversation

❤ Terry Pratchett (Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch)

DON’T THINK OF IT AS DYING, said Death. JUST THINK OF IT AS LEAVING EARLY TO AVOID THE RUSH.

❤ Mercedes Lackey (Owlsight)

Anyone who thought this would be a weak point in the manor’s defenses would have a rude surprise, shortly before coming down with a serious case of death.

Let’s Talk!

Do you name your cars/transportation? Does this combo of quotes/car names even make sense?? Who are your favorite snarky characters?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. kmbooks24 says:

    Hahahaha yay I am loving these quotes! I think my favourite snarky characters would be Manon and Aelin. They are the queens of snark and when they’re together, the snark factor is off the charts 😂

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Ahhh, I will get to that series!!! I’m so excited for the snarkiness!

      Like

  2. shar says:

    This is so cute! I don’t have a car (I don’t live on a road so), but I like to name inanimate objects. My flute is called Artemis, and my ukulele is Fern (although I don’t play her or address her by her name very often.) While I haven’t heard of all these characters, Lila=the actual best, Nico=CINNAMON BUN, Terry Pratchett is hilarious and yes. *nods*
    Shar @Virtually Read

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Ahh thank you!! (Sorry for the super delayed reply!!) I LOVE those instrument names. Now I kind of want to give my viola a name…. probably Lizzie because she is so opinionated. 😉 I’m so glad you love Nico too!! ❤ ❤ He is all the fabulous!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

