Bookish Obsessions: CANDLES

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a bookworm in possession of extra funds, must be in want of bookish accessories. Or at least, this particular book dragon, when not buying ALL THE BOOKS, wants ALL THE ACCESSORIES because what else would I spend my money on???*

*Maybe food, sometimes clothing, but who really needs those? Except chocolate, chocolate is necessary for life, or at least, getting through the day without being super cranky and accidentally spitting fire at people.

My CURRENT obsession is CANDLES. They smell amazing and help evoke the sense of being INSIDE your book which aside from being magically transported into the stories (->my actual life goal) helps bring stories alive. Here are some my FAVORITE bookish candle stores, plus stores that I’m carefully hoarding my money so I can pillage their inventory in one fell swoop. ˆ.ˆ

(Also, this post is not sponsored or affiliated with anyone BUT myself :D)

The Melting Library (shop on Etsy)

meltinglibraryscreenshot
Screenshot from The Melting Library store

My Melting Library candles are my precious treasures and I’ve started down a dangerous route of buying more the minute my latest order arrives. (My wallet is judging me!) At the moment, I have The Night Court (OMG it smells just like you imagine the Night Court would smell, but it is NOT overwhelming at ALL. If you leave the room, it smells like paradise when you get back ❤ ) and Always Victorious (listed as fire, spice and rain, but really just smells amazingly tasty !).** I’m waiting on The Autumn Court and the House of Mist right now (*puffs out ring of smoke to make angel crown* not obsessed with ACOMAF at all… nothing to see here 😉 ). They make candles for a variety of series (primarily YA oriented), but some scents and specials sell out QUICKLY. As in, the same day that the shop posts it being available again, it sells out! So if you have your eye on one of their candles, DO NOT HESITATE. They make announcements about specials or new scents/the shop being refilled on their Twitter and Instagram accounts.

They also offer discount codes through various Instagram accounts that “rep” for them (represent their products for a limited amount of time). Check out these accounts for discount codes (and all around fabulous photos): alittlebookworld, therusticwindow, bokhjerte, readsleepfangirl, fictiontea, and abookishloveaffair.

** Please do NOT try to eat the candles even though they smell utterly amazing and delicious!

In the Wick of Time (shop on Etsy)

in-the-wick-of-time-screenshot
Screenshot from Etsy side panel

At the time of my writing this post, In the Wick of Time was on a temporary hiatus to fill back orders, but luckily I had an old picture of candles I wanted from them! I have two on order (Rhysand and Elven Valley) so I can’t review HOW they smell yet, but I’ve been assured by a friend who DOES have a candle from them that it is wonderful and so precious that she’s scared to burn it because then it would be used up. According to their item info, these should burn for around 70 hours total (which I think is quite a fair amount of time!). They are also fairly YA focused, but feature some pop culture scents too (Any Gilmore Girls lovers out there??). They also make announcements through their Twitter and Instagram accounts.

They have some pretty AWESOME reps for Fall 2016 – so check out these accounts for great photos and discount codes: bookwormeverlasting, youngadultbookaddict, ohthebookfeels, hayaisreading, and ifreakinlovebooks.

Novelly Yours (shop on Etsy)

novelly-yours
Screenshot from the Novelly Yours store

You’ll notice a SIZE difference between the Novelly Yours candles and others mentioned above (there is a LOVELY price different too, so they are more affordable if you only want to dip your toes into the bookish candle world ;D). There is a diverse range of scents, from Disney (<3) to new Heartless scents to general book themes (book boyfriend anyone?). They also offer lots of sampler sets (I have my dragonish eye focused on the Lunar Chronicles sampler featuring candles based on Cress, Cinder, Scarlet and Winter <3)! On top of those great options, they also have a fabulous Candle of the Month club (available in 3 month or 6 month subscriptions) where you receive one 8-oz candle PLUS a mystery 2-oz candle of one of their current scents. If you’re not sure which candle to try, this is a fun option. 🙂 Keep up to date with news from their store via their Twitter and Instagram accounts.

They are currently holding a rep search through Instagram, so I will update this post with their new reps (for the glorious photos and discount codes) once the Fall 2016 reps have been announced! 🙂

Meraki Candles (shop on Etsy)

meraki-candles-screenshot
Screenshot of the Etsy Store

The British bookstagrammers that I adore are OBSESSED with Meraki Candles! I’m so bummed I procrastinated ordering their monthly candle box as the next theme is Myths & Legends (featuring some of my ALL-TIME FAVORITE series!! ❤ <3) and now it’s all sold out. 😦 #bookworm problems. Their candles are said to smell glorious, with a wide range of YA series represented. (They’re also SUPER photogenic!). I’ll admit that they are at the top of my candle wishlist, but their store is also currently on hiatus to fill back orders – so my poor bookish hoard will have to wait to add them to my candle collection. Follow them on Twitter and Instagram for store and product updates!

They have lots of FABULOUS reps whose photos will make you drool over their candles (forewarning 😉 ) and then enable your wishes with a handy-dandy discount code. Check out: booksthetics, liveandbreathewords, blackbeakbooks, mlovesreading, and contagiousbooks.

Other candle shops:

Burning Pages Candles

Book and Nook

Lumiere Candle Shop (BRAND NEW)

Angry Hare (BRAND NEW)

Do you have any bookish candles? What candle shops do you LOVE?? What other bookish obsessions should I write about?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the idea of bookish candles so much. And they all sound so amazing but I really can’t deal with smelly stuff. So instead I end up buying them as presents for everybody because if I can’t hang out in sherlocks study or the gryffindor common room then at least my friends can and I can just be jealous… Wait. Maybe I didn’t think that through.

    Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I see candles EVERYWHERE on instagram!! It’s like a candle-apocalypse or something. Although tbh they’d be very handy for the apocalypse right?!? So you can justify buying them because it’s also a survival-skill-thing. *nods* 😉 Anyway, I have not ever burned a bookish candle…I’m not big on scents, BUT! I think we can all agree that “In the wick of time” is the most amazingly punny name of the world.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. infinitbr says:

      Honestly I think that if we went through the apocalypse, all the bookworms would rush to bookish candles for light and completely ignore the standard ones even if it meant a smaller chance of survival 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Becca says:

        YES! Although, they may burn the standard ones first to save their preciouses??

        Liked by 1 person

      2. infinitbr says:

        OMG HAHAHAHA! I love that 😂

        Like

    2. Becca says:

      In the wick of time definitely WINS the punny title contest!! My brother tends to make weird smelling food so candles have already become a survival-skill-mechanism thing for me 😉 They could also be turned into fire “bombs” if the zombies ever attack :p

      Like

  3. I see these beautiful candles on instagram all the time and I wonder how they smell? They sound so beautiful! Unfortunately shipping to Australia costs more than the candle itself. It sounds awesome, thanks for sharing all of these links! Thankfully I think Burning Pages Candles is in Australia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      I think Burning Pages Candles are in Australia.. but I vaguely remember one of the others also being located there?? I shall have to check for you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. infinitbr says:

    I’ve managed to stay away from bookish candles just because I AM BROKE! But you talking about it makes me want to order in the Night Court (my true home 💓) candle in ASAP!!! Also by the way you’re hilarious in case you didn’t know 😏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Hahaha THANKS! That is my goal 😉 Also YOU NEED THE NIGHT COURT IN YOUR LIFE!! If I could only re-order one candle, it would be that one 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

