BTT: first book obsession

Happy Thursday everyone!!

It’s Book Traveling Thursdays time😀. This is a meme hosted every week by Cátia (fromTheGirlWhoReadsTooMuch) and Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) through a Goodreads group.

This week the theme is THE book that got you into reading, which in dragon translates to: “What was the first shiny in your hoard??” Most of the books that really got me into reading have only ONE cover – I honestly don’t think they were published anywhere else? Which is just not cool publishers. *snorts smoke in indignation* SO, I’ve decided to go with the book which renewed my love of all things FANTASY when I went to see its’ movie adaptation. O=)

(Quick recap: for this meme we get to pick one book, look at covers from around the world, then write a post about a) the original cover, b) the cover from our country, c) our favorite covers, and d) our least favorite covers (mwahahahaha). )

For this week, I chose The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Original Cover

fellowship1
1954 Ballantine pub.

I am not 100% sure that this is the original cover, but it IS the oldest cover I could find on GR (Goodreads), so I’m going to go with it! The first thing I noticed was the bright green color that would automatically draw the eye. It definitely fits the style I’m used to seeing on old fantasy novels. The depiction of Gandalf and Frodo (?) are also different than what is common in modern covers for this title with Frodo looking more child-like than hobbit-like.

Cover in my country

fellowship2
US 2012 Mariner Books

Sets in this style cover are sold currently in bookstores, so I’m also guessing that this is the current cover for the US? I do like the color combinations used and the emphasis placed on the ring, but the eye symbol is so small in the middle that it doesn’t really remind me of Sauron.

Favorite Cover from Elsewhere

The Spanish and the Korean versions calllllll to meeeee. As I’m typing this, I realize that they are using the same landscape (whoops!), but with different photo editing and framing. The border and darker tints in the Korean is my favorite, because it really makes the Elven (?) castle in the background POP. The US version I chose is because I’m a huge fan of the movie and Frodo needs all the hugs *not biased at all O=)*

Least Favorite Cover from Elsewhere

I tried to pick fairly recent covers, because old fantasy covers are notoriously horrible *shudder*, but I could not pass up the 1986 Ballentine cover – not sure what the three symbols stand for? Any ideas? I have questions about all the others too – they don’t really give any hint of what the book is about! Did I miss a bird in the story? (German 2000 edition) Where do you think the German 2002 sketch is supposed to represent? I *think* the double trees in the audio is supposed to be elven related? The Persian cover doesn’t have any image, just the color background for the text, which is so simple that in a store I personally would overlook it.

Let’s Talk!

Are you an LOTR fan? Do you have a favorite character? (I’m torn between Legolas and Gimli!!!) What was the book that got YOU into reading?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. kmbooks24 says:

    Those are some crazy covers! It’s so cool to see how they’ve changed over the years and how different they are across the world. I’ve never read LOTR *hides in shame* but I’ve seen the movies and I love them! I was always intimated but my the length of the books/the amount of detail in them, seeing as I couldn’t even finish the Hobbit 😞 Maybe one day I’ll give it a chance! I love Sam and movie Legolas = the love of my life haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Legolas in the movie! ❤ ❤ He and Gimli are my favorites because of their snarky, sassy conversations! lol. (and don't worry, I haven't read the books either……)

      Like

      1. kmbooks24 says:

        Haha okay I don’t feel so bad then! Yes Gimli is hilarious! I love snarky characters; they’re my spirit animals 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. infinitbr says:

    I thought the German one was a chicken at first 😂 I think my favorite was either the first one or the Persian one because they feel so much like LOTR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      I could totally look like a chicken! I have no idea what it is, hahaha. I wonder if it makes sense with how the title is translated in German??

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

