TTT: BOOKS Recommended to you

TopTenTuesdayLogo

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

My current plans for buying Christmas gifts is to BUY EVERYONE ILLUMINAE by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. No one can complain about that right?? Then they HAVE to read it. *dragon grins*

* Note:Β I am completely and UTTERLY immune to this rule. Unless it is a book I actually want to read (old cookbooks do NOT count >.<).

Every once in a while, I do get around to reading books recommended to me and these are the 10, the best 10, the 10 you NEED IN YOUR LIFE because OMG they are AMAZING!!

Books thrown at me byΒ people in the real world

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – Basically ALL of the epicness with fabulous outerwear to boot. Recommended by extended family member. Far more details in my review!

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer – Who doesn’t like a genius kid evil mastermind? Add onto that an elaborate hidden Fae society with sassy dialogue, I’m so glad my co-workers badgered me to read this one. πŸ˜€

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley – OMG THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!! ❀ ❀ I don’t even know how I wrote an actually coherent review, but it is the best thing EVER and if you aren’t convinced, read my review (or better yet, THE BOOK) πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ My friends are the best for handing this one off to me!!

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty – A cute story set in the unique setting of the Biltmore Estate, this MG was adorable and memorable enough that my sieve of a brain actually remembers snippets?? This is another co-worker recommendation.

Terrier by Tamora Pierce – I may be partially biased towards this since the protagonist and I share names, BUT, she is also super relatable with a great cast of friends, a mystery to solve and fun fantasy setting. While I love high fantasy and epic fantasy, this was a fun surprise since it doesn’t focus on the upper classes at all. ❀ Another lovely recommendation from friends.

The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – Jennifer Lynn Barnes, in my humble opinion, is the QUEEN of YA suspense/mysteries. This one is no exception with government politics, betrayal, friendships and high school drama all wrapped up into a super exciting series. Can you guess who recommended this one? FRIENDS. πŸ˜€

While Beauty Slept by Elizabeth Blackwell – Sleeping Beauty isn’t a fairytale that lends itself to a real life/contemporary novel, but Blackwell comes close with this historical fiction retelling. There isn’t a clear locale for this, but there is NO MAGIC, yet it keeps really well to the original fairytale! My family bookclub read this one and it was overall liked (though not flailing-level of fangirl liked).

Books that broke the internet so therefore I MUST READ THEM NOW!!!

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir –Β An ancient Rome-inspired YA fantasy, I was a little hesitant about this one, but the characters, THE CHARACTERS, I ❀ a ridiculous amount! Even though my copy of this is paperback, I already bought the sequel in hardcover because I needed it ASAP! — found via various blogs and bookstagram!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – OMG OMG OMG OMG. Only one book can compete with my devotion to The Rook and that would be this epic monster of space heartbreaks and gorgeous battles!! The format may take a few pages to adjust to, but once you do, there is no turning back. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Β — another various blogs and bookstagram find!

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab – AUUUUGGGGUUUUSSSTTTT!!!!! ❀ ALL OF THE FEELS. My obsession with this book is completely the fault of the fabulous Cait at paperfury – as explained in my full book review that *warning* has quite a bit of fangirling!!

Let’s Talk!

What books do you recommend to EVERYONE YOU MEET? Or give as gifts? What is your favorite book that someone recommended to you?

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Illuminae was on my list, too. I read Rook, but…well, I should say I tried to read Rook. I ended up DNFing it.

    The Martian is the one I recommend to everyone.

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Oh NO! I slightly gave up on the Rook’s sequel *cries in denial*, but the first one may not be to everyone’s tastes! πŸ™‚ I’ve heard fabulous things about the Martian! The movie was EPIC, but the book is supposed to be even better right?

      Like

  2. Jamie Wu says:

    I recently fallen in love with Schwab’s writing through Vicious. It was really awesome. I can’t wait to get to ADSOM and This Savage Song. I’ve heard so many good things about them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      I’ve not read Vicious but I feel like I NEED IT IN MY LIFE SO BAD. Her writing is so fabulous – I really want to hear what you think of ADSOM and This Savage Song.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jamie Wu says:

        Read it. It’s fantastic! Her writing is definitely FABULOUS. I’m planning to get to ADSOM soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mariela says:

    I could not get into A Darker Shade of Magic. But I will finish it. I read it because I saw it on so many blogs, so I thought to give it a try.
    My TTT.

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Awww, that’s understandable! The first time I tried it, my brain just refused to play along, but after putting it away and reading other stuff, I liked it a lot better on the second try. πŸ™‚ Some books just don’t work out :/

      Like

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    I really want to read Illuminae – nice to see that you loved it – it definitely encourages me to bump it up the list.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      DO IT DO IT!! It so utterly fabulous (= a cow dressed up in a tutu, which is what my brain just imagined?, is not actually in the book…lol!) I’ve heard the audio version is equally stellar πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    OMG I’M SO GLAD YOU’RE OBSESSED WITH THIS SAVAGE SONG TOO. ❀ That book is everything ahhhh!!!! And I completely agree about Illuminae. I mean, I would've read that anyway whether the internet shouted or not, because unique formatting is my thing. But like, the internet wouldn’t shut up about it, right?! And I’m a complete sucker for the hype. XD
    Also I think it’s really cool that you have bookworm-family-members/co-workers who read!! I’m basically the sole reader in my family and I try recommending them books but it doesn’t work hehhh. I SHALL KEEP TRYING THOUGH!! We bookworms are persistent. πŸ˜‰ Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      ALL OF THE OBSESSED!! TSS shall forever be my precious! ❀ Alongside Illuminae *hugs all the books* I rarely read SciFi, so even with amazing formatting, I probably wouldn't have picked it up so the INTERNET WINS *shhhh, don't tell them, lol* And my family doesn't read much (and almost NEVER YA), but we do have our own book club with my sister's-in-laws so we could get to know each other, which is fabulous and an excuse to bake delicious sweets once a month πŸ™‚ YOU CAN DO IT CAIT!! If anyone can convince them to read it is you! πŸ˜‰ The bookworm fight continues…

      Like

  6. infinitbr says:

    WOW! I’ve finally found another blogger who has read a Tamora Pierce book! Her books basically started my love of reading so I’m so happy Terrier is there. πŸ˜„ Have you read Alanna the Lioness? It’s a bit younger but it’s my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      I haven’t read Alanna the Lioness but it is high on my wishlist!! I’ve only read the Terrier series but I’ve read it a couple of times. πŸ™‚ ❀ Have you read Battle Magic? I think it's book 3 of a series, but I own it and haven't read books 1 and 2!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. infinitbr says:

        You should!! Like I said, it’s a bit younger but it’s still so amazing! The characters and the magic always make me feel like I’m truly in another world 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Becca says:

        I’ll have to see if my library carries it! (I’m sure they do!)

        Like

  7. MyBookJacket says:

    I’m definitely grabbing the Fixer and The Rook. Already had fixer on my TBR but never heard of the rook! Off to read your review now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      The Fixer is phenomenal!! The sequel, The Long Game (I think it’s called?), ups the tension even more! They are soooo good!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love how you call the second set of books “Books that broke the internet” – that’s hysterical! (And oh so true.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Thanks!! It is oh so terribly and fabulously true!

      Like

  9. Soooo many of these are on my TBR! I need to get to them STAT!!! Aaargh. So many booooooookkkkssss! I can do this!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Becca says:

      YOU CAN DO IT! I BELIEVE IN YOU DI! ❀ .<

      Like

  10. Darker shade of magic is one of my favourite books ever. I stumbled upon it by accident and I loved it so much that I haven’t been able to make myself read the next book just in case it doesn’t live up to it!
    The rook is sitting on my kindle waiting for me to read. I’m actually planning on reading it next and another book blogger recommended it to me.

    Illuminae is the book on my TBR that I’m most looking forward to reading…as soon as I have the money to buy it. Or well. Christmas at the latest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      I’M SO HAPPY YOU PLAN TO READ THE ROOK NEXT!!! *throws confetti and fills up balloons* I love that book SO MUCH (but the sequel we will pretend doesn’t exist…) Who was the book blogger????? I NEED TO SQUEAL WITH THEM!! ahem. Sorry, I may be a little of the excited. lol. I haven’t read the sequel to ADSOM either because I was told by someone else that it mostly sets up for an epic book 3? AND OMG ILLUMINAE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU TOTALLY NEED THAT ONE TOO *piles books on top of you* it would definitely make a great Christmas gift to yourself!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe, the blogger was Emma over at Bluchickennija. And no worries, i definitely get just as excited about books too!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Becca says:

        AWESOME!! Thanks! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Zoe says:

    I absolutely loved The Fixer and Illuminae so I’m glad to see them on your list. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Thanks Zoe!! Have you read the sequel to The Fixer yet? There’s one massive plot twist that is just AGHHH!! I’m glad you like all of my choices ❀ ❀ Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  12. A Darker Shade of Magic is great! I should’ve expected that though – I think the entire internet recommended it to me. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t read any of the others, but I’m definitely interested in Artemis Fowl and Serafina and the Black Cloak.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      Artemis Fowl is a quick read, but I think I read the first 3 books in, like, a week (?) because it was soooo fabulous! Serafina and the Black Cloak is a little different than you’d expect but still really good! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

