BTT: A book that made you smile

Happy Thursday everyone!!

It’s Book Traveling Thursdays time 😀 (a meme hosted every week by Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadsTooMuch) and Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) through a Goodreads group)! This week the theme is a book that made you smile recently. September = massive reading slump for me, so instead of a my normally majestic dragon-self, I was a grumpy troll hoarding ALL of the chocolate (*my precious*) while glaring at my TBR that seems to be growing on its own. (pretty sure it’s stealing my chocolate :P).

(Quick recap: for this meme we get to pick one book, look at covers from around the world, then write a post about a) the original cover, b) the cover from our country, c) our favorite covers, and d) our least favorite covers (mwahahahaha). )

One of the FEW books I read last month was My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows, which is a mostly-hilarious fantasy take on the 9-day Queen Jane (historically beheaded by the gloriously named Queen Bloody Mary who I love to imagine crying “Off with their heads!” but only really sent people to the pyre for not being Catholic).

Original Cover/Cover from my country

1myladyjane
US version 2016

The colors in this cover really POP in person. The girl on the cover matches the description of Jane in the novel, but I’m not the biggest fan of the font they used for the cover. IT’S LIKE, BY THE WAY, IF YOU COULDN’T TELL BY THE GIRL ON THE COVER, THIS IS A BOOK ABOUT MY LADY JANE!!! *immediately gives troll-self chocolate* Sorry. My grumpiness may be extending to this cover. O=/

Favorite covers from elsewhere

2myladyjane
UK version 2016

THIS cover is much more accurate to the book!! ❤ ❤ ❤ It shows off the lightheartedness, comical aspect of the story without really giving any spoilers or yelling at you…

Least favorite covers from elsewhere

**See US cover above, because there are only two covers for this book?? ‘Tis a new book so that very well may be normal?

Let’s Talk!

Has anyone else read this book? What do you think about Queen Jane? Any other book ideas for getting out of my trollish state and back to happy book-devouring time?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve read this book! It definitely made me smile, too, but I gotta say that none of the covers really gelled with me. The UK one just seems very cartoonish, but I do like her mischievous expression and thought bubble there… and the US one, while I like the colours, I just don’t love? Yeah. But such a great book, though. 💕

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      The UK one is very cartoonish, but I like how it conveys the mischievous nature of the plot! Lol. Back to the cover drawing board. 🙂

      Like

  2. I had never even seen the UK cover till now, it is pretty cartoonish, but the US version makes her look so sophisticated which she is not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      YES. Maybe a mix between the two would’ve been better??

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

