TTT: My Fall TBR

TopTenTuesdayLogo

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Fall is one of my all-time favorite seasons! On top of the awesome leaves, tea, pumpkin-spiced EVERYTHING, cuddly sweaters, and perfect dog walking weather are some book releases that I CANNOT WAIT FOR!!! Normally I read whatever happens to be near me out of my massive TBR pile, but these new releases are going straight to the top of the pack once they’re out.

September Releases:

 septembertbr

Crooked Kingdoms (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo – Six of Crows was AMAZING – and I’m listening to it again on audiobook in preparation for Crooked Kingdoms! I’ve actually made it half way through already without needing a nap – that’s a sign of awesome plot/characters and setting. J

Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns #1) by Kendare Blake – I think I have this on hold at 3 different libraries and in multiple formats so that I get a copy as soon as I can. Three princesses who have to fight to the death for the crown, but two are faking their powers? Sounds pretty epic!

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge – I’ve really enjoyed Hodge’s re-tellings of fairytales in the past so I’m super curious to see how her re-telling of Romeo and Juliet. (Also, that cover is too gorgeous!)

The Creeping Shadow (Lockwood & Co #4) by Jonathon Stroud – Lockwood & Co is one of my all-time favorite ghost series! I was a little disappointed by The Hollow Boy (#3) due to some understandable character development, but it sounds like things are going to get even more interesting in this next book! If you like scary ghost stories, this MG series is surprisingly intense.

The Reader (Sea of Ink and Gold #1) by Traci Chee – The premise of this book – a girl struggling to survive after the murder of her father in an illiterate society where a book is her only clue – caught my interest right away. I hope it’s as good as it’s cover!

 October Releases:

 octobertbr

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2) by Rick Riordan – I LOVED the first Magnus Chase book so much that I chose it for one of my book clubs to read. I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – This is one of the two new releases that I pre-ordered, because I NEED IT NOOOOOOWWWW!!!!! The interior of Illuminae was as much a work of art as the plot and I’m sure Gemina will be just as amazing.

Closer to the Chest (Valdemar: The Herald Spy #3) by Mercedes Lackey – I grew up reading Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar novels and I’m still just as obsessed as I was when I was a kid. If I could transport myself there and have a Companion, I would leave in a heartbeat (as long as family and friends could come visit on occasion). Mags is an awesome protagonist, so I can’t wait to read this third book!

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria – A very intriguing premise with a gorgeous cover!

A Darkly Beating Heart by Lindsay Smith – I love time travel or multiple timeline books AND books set in Japan, so when I read this book’s description, I added it to read ASAP.

 November Releases:

 novembertbr

Heartless by Marissa Meyer – Marissa Meyer is another author that I absolutely adore. Her re-telling of Alice in Wonderland’s Queen of Hearts is the only other book I’ve pre-ordered so far this fall. Can’t wait for it!!!

Scythe by Neal Shusterman – I’ve never actually read a book by Neal Shusterman, but I’ve read a couple different books based on a fictionalized grim reaper, so I’m curious how this book will be. The publisher’s summary sounds like it’ll be a dystopian world system.

Bad Blood (The Naturals #4) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – The Naturals series is insanely intense – imagine Criminal Minds but written for teens. Now throw in a cult of serial killers introduced in the last book – if you like thrillers, this is a great teen series for you!

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – A book about a humanoid robotic bodyguard, Nemesis, pretending to be an intergalactic princess being held hostage? Sign me up!

 

Let’s Talk!

What books are you most excited for? Is your fall TBR mostly new releases or already published books?

Leave a Reply

