TTT: Top Ten Audiobooks

TopTenTuesdayLogo

Hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is an all audio freebie, which almost sent me back into my book dragon cave to hide. No matter what I do, audiobooks always = nap time. (I have tried. Really really really, eaten all of the chocolate and drank all of the coffee, tried to stay awake and failed miserably).

Therefore, this list may be slightly shorter than 10 – these are the stupendously amazing, electrifying audiobooks that DID NOT send me to sleep!*

*Note: this may not mean they won’t send you to sleep. They somehow bribed the sleep gremlins in my brain into behaving, but that could have been a fluke. Everyone’s sleep gremlins are different!

How To Train Your Dragon (books 1-8) by Cressida Cowell

READ BY DAVID TENNANT

httyd1

* cough * * cough * Apparently, I forgot about this series. Everyone needs to listen to these audiobooks. YES YOU! I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY!! (nor will you fall asleep)

Why? Here’s an easy peasy list:

  1. David Tennant is amazing.
  2. If for some reason that does not convince you – David Tennant does an insane range of voices (as in EPICALLY DIFFERENT FROM EACH OTHER, how is he not killing his vocal chords?!?!?! type of range)
  3. There’s jaunty Viking music in between chapters.
  4. Yes, you can imagine David Tennant in a Viking helmet singing a Viking lullaby and not be far off the mark of what these audiobooks are like.
  5. Did I mention there are dragons?
  6. Snarky dragons
  7. The character names are hilarious: ex. Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III
  8. It is NOT the same as the movie!
  9. The audiobooks are super short (under 3 hours usually – which could be a negative because see points 1-7)
  10. It’s amazing and you NEED IT IN YOUR LIFE!

There are a few other audiobooks that have not sent me to sleep, but now all I want to do is re-listen to this series!

httyd2

Let’s Talk!

What audiobooks have you enjoyed listening to? Do you love snarky dragons and David Tennant too?

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina says:

    I hadn’t thought about How To Train Your Dragon. How I def need to make time to read this!

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      It is SOOO GOOD – YOU NEED IT IN YOUR LIFE!!! ❤ ahem. I think you will enjoy it. O=)

      Like

      1. Tina says:

        Thanks! I definitely will put it on my tbr list! (Check out our TTT)

        Like

  2. Carrie says:

    you had me at David Tennant! My TTT

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      <3<3<3<3 He is amazing!!!

      Like

  3. I’m not an audiobook person either. I just can’t do it!!

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      My mind wanders a lot with them :/ but DRAGONS — they and David Tennant are magical 🙂 all other audiobooks 😦 I feel your pain!

      Like

  4. lry93 says:

    I think anything read by David tennant would be amazing

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      It totally IS! I’d love to hear what you think if you decide to give it a listen. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jamie Wu says:

    I’ve never tried audiobooks before, and I worry that my attention will wonder if I do. This sounds like a good place to start 🙂

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      I have the exact same problem! Then five minutes later you wonder why everyone is suddenly a) dead, b) in love with each other or c) missing (or at least that happens in most of the books I’ve tried O=) ) Hope this one works for you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. ChrissiReads says:

    I love David Tennant’s voice so I might have to check them out!

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      His performance for these audiobooks is absolutely amazing! Plus, he uses his normal Scottish accent the majority of the time 😀

      Like

  7. I had heard that David Tennant did the audiobooks and he loved them so much he asked to be in the film. I will definitely see if my library has these!

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      REALLY?!?!? I hadn’t heard that! OMG, now I want to go re-watch the films. 🙂

      Like

  8. Jule says:

    I’ve got all twelve Dragon audio books. Plus everything else read by DT I could get hold of. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Becca says:

      You have the BEST PRIORITIES!! ❤ Did he read other books?!?!?!

      Like

      1. Jule says:

        Lots of them, for adults mostly, but also some children’s books. And he’s in some Doctor Who audio plays as well. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Becca says:

        Now I need to do some research! THANK YOU!! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

