Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book that gives you the warm fuzzies

While wandering around the book community, I stumbled upon Chapter Adventures’ Book Traveling Thursdays post – and it seemed like SO MUCH FUN! Who doesn’t love looking at covers from all over the world and picking the prettiest one?!? It’s like shopping but you don’t have to spend any money. =D

As far as I have figured, every week Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadsTooMuch) and Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) host this meme through a Goodreads group. It’s open for anyone to join and they give themes for every week of the month. This week the theme is books that bring you warm feelings/fuzzies (since Fall, aka THE BEST SEASON OF EVER, is just around the corner). * pulls out suitcase of scarves,  stacks of mugs for tea and hot cocoa, and a sleeping bag to camp out for GEMINA and other fall releases <- priorities *

To participate, we get to pick one book, look at covers from around the world, then write a post about a) the original cover, b) the cover from our country, c) our favorite covers, and d) our least favorite covers (mwahahahaha).

It was actually insanely hard to pick ONE book – all of my favorites have legit 2 covers between all the places they have been published – not very fun :/ So I kept looking and wound up at The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley (one of the books I mentioned this week in my Top Ten HF books). I LOVE this book’s setting, characters, and leisurely plot line. While I read it this year, I already think of it with fondness and a desire to re-read — that is NOT common for me. 🙂

So without further ado (or random asides from yours truly) – the covers:

Original Cover

1wintersea

Based on the dates/details on Goodreads, this looks like it was the original cover (& title?) when the story was first published in 2008. * shudders * I REALLY DISLIKE THIS ENTIRE THING. ahem. First, why is she in a ball gown? The story follows an 18th century Scottish woman and a modern century writer (who is definitely not Cinderella)…. so… yeah. She also looks like she is chewing gum? That may just be me. (or she could be singing the Batman theme song – nanananana) What do you guys think?

Current Cover from where I live (USA)

2wintersea

I, Becca, do solemnly swear that I covet this cover like no other!! All of Kearsley’s books have been given magical makeovers to this particular style and are beautiful in person. This also reminds me a LOT more of the plot than the original which I now want to pretend never existed –> the contemporary MC vividly hallucinates while staring out into the ocean #nailed it. Also, her hair is gorgeous.

Favorite Covers from Elsewhere

The first is the Portuguese edition and the second is the UK’s second attempt. I’m not super found of either of them (I spot BATMAN! Nananananana….), BUT I like them better than all the others (except for the fabulousness above). Also, is the UK one blurry to anyone else? That’s how it came from Goodreads. >.<

Least Favorite Covers from Elsewhere

Why, Spain, why?!? It’s soooooo blah. Bland landscape…. there are epic dunes, castle ruins and cottages throughout the entire book – plus actual sea imagery. While I see what they were going for (and Germany too with their flowers coming out of the roof?), this doesn’t clearly say “Scotland” to me.

Let’s Talk!

What do you guys think of these covers? Are there any you like that I didn’t? Do you see Batman or gum or has my imagination had too much chocolate? I’m always on the lookout for more awesome book covers so any recommendations would be fabulous. 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yaay. I’m glad you joined Book Traveling Thursdays 😀 I love the US and the Portuguese one. The other does look blurry, but that’s totally on purpose from what I can see. It’s not the best of effects in this case, it doesn’t look very good. My least favorite is the original cover, it’s so bad!

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Thank you for stopping by!! I think I’m just so in love with the US version that it was hard for me to like the others? But I completely 100% AGREE about the original — soo soo bad!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellis Ferrell says:

    The U.S. Cover is absolutely gorgeous 😍

    Like

    1. Becca says:

      Isn’t it?!? I may have just ordered it because after this post I just NEEDED IT. Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

